gRegorLove little g big R

Check the Contact Information You've Uploaded to Facebook

If you’ve ever had the Facebook app installed on your phone, you should check on the contacts it has uploaded and information it has tracked. Per the Ars Technica article linked below, Facebook was collecting your call and SMS logs from Android phones until recently.

How to see/remove contacts that were uploaded to Facebook

Keep in mind that this is contact information from your phone’s address book that was uploaded to Facebook if you granted the permission when you installed the app. They use this information to help connect you to your friends on Facebook. Deleting this information does not remove any of your current Facebook friends.

If you have used the Facebook Messenger app, also open https://www.facebook.com/mobile/messenger/contacts/ to delete that information. Again, this doesn’t remove the friends you’re connected to on Facebook, just the address book information you’ve shared with Facebook, most likely totally unaware.

If you had either app on iPhone you’re probably safe from the call and SMS logs. You should still check what contact information you’ve uploaded. I would also generally recommend not using the Facebook apps on your phone, if possible. The mobile version of Facebook at https://m.facebook.com should work well instead. You can bookmark it and add it as an icon on your home screen.

Facebook scraped call, text message data for years from Android phones, Ars Technica,

Search

Proud member of An IndieWeb Webring 🕸💍